Design, babe. Design.

When I hear the word “design” I think of pens and paper, markers and crayons, all coming together in a beautiful mess of artwork. But even with a minor in art, there’s not a lot that jumps into my mind when I hear the word “design” beyond art projects. If I think harder, I come up with the definition that “design” is the journey and not the destination, so this week for class I’m going to take you on a designing journey.

Steven Bradley organizes design into four categories: objects, structure, activities, and relations. He uses these buzzwords to describes the various aspects of design that could be going on within a single piece. To better illustrate this idea, I’ve taken four photographs to illuminate each idea of design. Carly the dachshund has volunteered her time to be my model. She was paid in hotdogs.

Objects: “the basic elements elements at our disposal”– Carly in her most basic pose.

016

Structure: two objects placed “in relation to one another”– In a picture I don’t mind the idea of two Carlys. I don’t know about real life though.

006

Activities: elements which convey movement– The word “down” doesn’t mean much to her.

023

Relations: “objects placed in a composition relate to each other”– In this case, Carly and my stuffed dog, Dean, mutually ignore each other.

008

In addition to seeing “design” all around me in just one day, our assignment asked us to read between the lines, literally and figuratively, by reading articles to supplement our knowledge of design. The one I mentioned earlier by Steven Bradley, expands on the four elements listed above, to show the many ways that each element can be seen. That’s the thing about art: the most obvious answer isn’t always the right one. Take Relations for example. My initial thought was “this image needs to have two focuses somehow relating to one another”. But the more I read, the more I understood that the relation didn’t need to be blatantly obvious. It didn’t have to be a positive relation. The relation “can imply movement and flow” or (in my case) “convey a concept and theme”. For Carly and Dean, the relationship is strained, as we can see from Carly turning away and Dean’s lack of expression. Carly longs for attention while Dean is content to lie on the bed and enjoy the space.

Another article we read for this week’s assignment was by Singh and Pickard and it analyzed the relationship between what we see in an image and what we are meant to see in an image. Symbolism and design go hand-in-hand to me because much of what I consider “design” (graphics, advertisements) is meant to have symbolism and the interpretation may be different for each individual. When reading the article, I thought of different episodes of Mad Men (which I recently watched every episode of) when Don Draper is pitching an idea to a client, who immediately sees the subliminal message of the advert but then when pitched to a focus group, nobody gets it. Sometimes what we don’t see is just as important as what we do see.

The last article we read was on the connection between visual imagery and written imagery and how design connects the two. Robert St. Clair, of the University of Louisville, describes the ten elements of design (unity, harmony; variety; balance; emphasis; rhythm; movement; pattern; graduation; proportion) and how we use these words to describe a visual design. While I was able to understand the overall concept of St. Clair’s article, I found his language to be difficult to understand and for an article written on design, the layout was poor. Something that has always appealed to me in design is the relationship between words and images. Together they have a beautiful message. So shouldn’t the visual aesthetic by top priority in a paper on which the topic is visual communication? Just a thought.

To end this post, I Googled the word “design”. Of course the first thing to pop up was Wikipedia, but I already had an idea in my head for a definition, so I didn’t need their help. So I went to images. The image search for “design” brought me to roughly a billion colorful, swirly images that looked like they came out of Microsoft Paint. That’s not design to me. To me, design is the plan you make when you’re about to set off on a creative adventure. Whether it’s the Sistine Ceiling or an advertisement for tampons, there’s an element of design in how the images flow together and communicate to the viewer. What do my images of Carly communicate? Love me. Also, I’m hungry.

7 comments on “Design, babe. Design.

  1. Courtney says:

    First off, I LOVE that you used Carly the model. I also enjoyed your humor about how she was “paid with hotdogs”. You seemed to have a great design journey. Not only did you just superficially think about the 4 categories, but you used your insight from the other articles to deepen your understaning and perception of what you were creating. I think you communicated well that Carly just wants love and attention- she had the same “happy” expression in all those pictures! I also enjoy a good Google search and appreciate the fact that you wanted to do more research. I do agree that sometimes the results can be disappointing when you have something specific in mind. Good luck on your continuing adventure in creativity!

  2. jkshang says:

    What a lovely portray of Carly…. uh, hmm, I mean,… ‘design’! Really enjoyed your work of connecting personal (daily) experience with the design elements. You also opened a door for me by introducing Steven Bradley’s perspectives in ‘elements’. You can’t imagine how thrilled I was by his inclusion of Kandinsky’s #8 to illustrate the design elements in his blog. I was never able to articulate why I fell in love with this composition but now I know. It is the ingenious way of mashing all the various elements together so seamlessly that it effectively creates a unity of harmony.

    I appreciate your comments about ‘art’ that the most obvious answer isn’t always the right one, and about ‘relations’ that it can imply movement or convey a concept. Now we all know how well Carly and Dean mutually ignore each other while enjoying the space between them, even though both are deeply loved by you! ❤ ❤

  3. jennduncan says:

    THANK YOU so much for your re-interpretation of Bradley using your dog, Carly!
    I was struggling with his article, but you made it seem so simple somehow, even though
    I know that you said basically the same things. Except, you of course did not keep uttering that
    irritating phrase, “I am sure you already know all about this..blah blah blah.”
    Maybe Bradley was trying to be too simple, and somehow it wasn’t working. Or maybe he just
    isn’t a very good teacher. Either way, you have taught me a lot with your photos and i appreciate it.

    Also, I too have a daschund (mini). Her name is Sophie. She knows the meaning of lots of words, she just doesn’t grasp the concept of “obey” or “on command”…

  4. Cris says:

    You know, of course, that Carly could be the star of her own picture book series teaching basic concepts of art, science, anything? Who wouldn’t make the right connections when she sees Carly at work?

    Speaking of connections, you inspired me to make a connection between Bradley/Leborg’s relations and St. Clair’s metaphorical thought when you explained that Carly’s interest in Dean may seem subtle — that all relations need not be blatant. So, let me ask about a metaphor you use. When you say that design is a plan for a journey or creative adventure, is the plan created and then followed? Or is design a process?

    • I think of design as the type of journey where you don’t necessarily know how you’re going to get to your destination, but eventually you will. Maybe it’s more like a road trip. There’s a destination in mind but there are bound to be other adventures along the way. Sometimes those adventures actually prove more fruitful than the original journey and destination. I know that with art projects I intended to create one thing, but somewhere on my way I got distracted or more inspired by something else. All I can seem to think of to relate to this metaphor is that horrible movie that Britney Spears did, “Crossroads”, and how it was more interesting to watch her get to her destination than the destination itself. I’m not sure I could tell you what the destination was, just that they sang “I Love Rock and Roll” in some dingy bar along the way. And that was the highlight of the movie.

  5. Horrible Britney Spears movie aside 😉 I get your point and concur that design is a continuing process of vision, exploration, implementation, evaluation, reflection, and back to a vision of what yet can be. One of my favorite books is Mary Catherine Bateson’s Composing a Life, but you know, I think a better metaphor for our times may be Designing a Life.

Leave a comment